Friday, June 28, 2013

Ordinations to the Priesthood and Diaconate

Fr Terence McGovern, a native of Carlow, was ordained to the priesthood on Sunday June 23rd by Bishop James Moriarty in the Cathedral of the Assumption. Deacon Sean Hyland from Kildare & Leighlin diocese and Deacon Barry Larkin from Ferns diocese assisted in the cermony which was also attended by a large number of priests and their Bishop Elect Fr Denis Nulty.   Fr. Terence had worked for 15 years as a solicitor, initially at Lanigan, Malcomson & Law and then on his own at an office in Carlow.  Having found himself drawn to the priesthood Terence spent a year in All Hallows College while waiting to commence his studies in the Beda College in Rome in 2009.  The Beda College forms older men, often convert clergymen, for Catholic priesthood. Their period of study is four years  because they are seen to have significant knowledge and experience already. Above Fr. Terence with Deacon Sean Hyland. 

Sean Hyland was ordained a deacon for the Diocese of Kildare and Leighlin on 14th June.

Rev Jonathan Flood a native of Ballintra will be ordained to the Priesthood by Bishop Philip Boyce, OCD, Bishop of Raphoe on Sunday 30th June in the Cathedral of Sts Eunan and Columba, Letterkenny at 3pm.
The Archdiocese of Armagh looks forward to the Priestly ordination of Rev Paul Murphy also on Sunday 30th June at 3pm at the Church of The Immaculate Conception, Termonfeckin.  Rev Paul Murphy studied Philosophy in St Malachy’s College, Belfast before moving to The Irish College, Rome for this Theology studies.  Rev Paul Murphy has been ministering as a Deacon in the parish of Drogheda for the last year while studying Liturgy in St Patrick’s College, Maynooth.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please be respectful in your comments. Thank you.